To All The Mothers on Mother’s Day….

When I was younger my Mother’s Day included a scenic drive  towards Shuswap Lake through the back roads with a stop along the way for my beloved bannock bread. As I got older the day was then filled with a nice brunch or dinner with my aunties, cousins and grandma. The last two years however were completely different. My mom is highly allergic to bees and with her luck she was stung and rushed to emergency both times(what are the chances?). Unfortunately, this year I will not be able to spend the day with my mom in person so we will have to make do with a lengthy telephone call. At the beginning of the year on the Ellen DeGeneres show they were asking viewers to send in a piece of writing about someone they are thankful for with the chance of it being read live on the show. At the time of that episode my mom was very sick.With living in a different city and feeling so far away I thought it to be the perfect way to express my feelings for her. To this day I have not yet read her the article.Now on Mother’s Day I want to share it with her and everyone else to remind all of you to love your mothers and to make sure you remind them all the time ♥

The people who get to know us best, from our talents to our flaws, are our parents. Ellen, you ask the question who are we thankful for, well, I am thankful for everyone in my life although at this point I am most thankful for my mother. My mom has been a huge impact on my life and her influence has helped to mold who I am today. At a youthful age my mom was faced with the uphill battle of raising a child on her own. Raising me as a single mother, she did everything in her power to make sure that I never went without. My mom is the kind of person who always demonstrated great passion for helping the less fortunate without requiring anything in return. Not only did she provide materialistic belongings for me, she taught me more than anyone else. She taught me the strengths to overcome hardships in my life, the dishonor of lying and the importance of treating everyone as equal. She is my confidante, teacher, and most importantly my friend. The things that I have learned and continue to learn from her will stay with me and help me throughout the rest of my life. I am the same age now that my mom was when she had me and I can say that it would take a very strong woman to go through life and make it to where she is today. My mom has guided me to the road of good choices and she has helped me to appreciate this life I was given. I can never thank my mother enough for the endless love and support she has given me. With her being sick this winter, it really put into perspective what an influence she is to me and how thankful I am to have such a remarkable individual present in my life. It is now my turn to be the strong support system to her that she has been to me the past 22 years.

Happy Mother’s Day to all the hard-working, loving moms♥

1 comment
  1. Denise Brown said:

    Thank you so much for your kind words my love. I have to pinch myself at times because you turned out to be such an amazing person. Jennifer you really did make it easy. Even as a baby you were always full of smiles and giggles. You brought so much joy to everyone around you. I give you much of the credit for who you are. You came into the world that way, with kindness and compassion. You always cherished your friends and treated people around you eaually no matter where they came from. You have such a loving spirit ,a forgiving soul and a good moral compass.You still giggle and people love to surround you because of it’s rippling effect.How you think, the choices you make and how smart you are make me so proud. We will continue this journey of life together forever.

    Respectfully your loving Mother. xoxo ps.(Have fun, be safe , and make good choices).

    .

Leave a Reply

